Mining Safety and Health Advisory Committee membership update | Commissioner for Resources Safety & Health Skip to content

Mining Safety and Health Advisory Committee membership update

22 February 2024

One new member has been appointed to the Mining Safety and Health Advisory Committee and two existing members were re-appointed ensuring continuity of membership while gaining fresh perspectives on safety and health in the mining and quarrying industry.

Interim Commissioner for Resources Safety and Health Andrew Clough said the appointments would help the advisory committee to continue to provide the Minister for Resources and Critical Minerals with contemporary, evidence-based advice that focuses on improving the safety of mineral mine and quarry workers.

“I would particularly like to welcome the advisory committee’s newest member, Senior Inspector of Mines Cameron Skinner, who brings many years of experience in mineral mining as a mining engineer, mine manager, site senior executive and now as an inspector,” Andrew said.

“Cameron is a highly qualified mining professional and I look forward to having him contribute his expertise and knowledge to the advisory committee’s robust discussions.”

Andrew also welcomed the reappointment of Jack Farry, representing Resources Safety and Health Queensland, and Joe Russell, representing mineral mine and quarry operators to the advisory committee.

“I am very pleased to see Jack and Joe extend their membership as both have been excellent contributors to the advisory committee and have extensive experience in operational positions and occupational safety and health,” he said.

All three members have been appointed until 31 January 2027.

Read more about the Mining Safety and Health Advisory Committee.

Last updated: 22 Feb 2024